Most e-resources no longer require that you input your barcode. For those that do, enter with no spaces the barcode located on the back of a valid Tyngsborough library card.
- School Edition: For Elementary, Middle and High School students.
- Learning Zone: Art activities, learning materials, audio & video, and vocabulary builders. Age 4-7.
- Public Library Edition: Includes a dictionary, thesaurus, videos, images, primary sources, and e-books.
- Public Library Edition for kids: Online kids encyclopedia provides general knowledge information.
- Spanish Reference Center: Encyclopedia for native Spanish speakers and students learning Spanish.
- World Data Analyst: Good for historical statistics and cross-national comparisons.
- Annals of America: Speeches, essays, biographies and landmark court decisions. 1493 - present.
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. The full collection of National Public Radio programs from 1990 to the present.
Nursing Resource Center is a comprehensive reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources to nurses, students preparing for clinical exam and other health care professionals, directly at the point-of-care. This database offers evidence-based information about diseases and conditions, plus drugs, latest medical new, laboratory & diagnostic tests, practice guidelines, patient educations handouts, and more.
Academic OneFile includes over 60 million articles from over 11,000 periodical titles, many going back to the 1980s. A good general-purpose periodical index with journals and popular magazines. Many of the articles are full-text. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on topics in the areas of current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Biography In Context
Biography in Context is a comprehensive database of biographical information on people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines more than 422,000 biographies on more than 335,000 people gathered from respected Thomson Gale reference sources with nearly one million additional biographies from the complete Marquis Who's Who. The database also includes full-text articles from nearly 300 periodicals.
Books and Authors
Get recommendations for new things to read based on what you already know you like. You can even keep track of your favorite books and authors, share your lists, and write reviews.
A collection of critical essays on contemporary authors. Each entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, listing of principal works, and sources for further study. The database covers writers now living or who died after December 31, 1959.
Digital Commonwealth: Massachusetts Collections Online
Digital Commonwealth is a Web portal for online cultural heritage materials held by Massachusetts libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives. The portal facilitates the searching and browsing of member institutions' digital assets, allowing the discovery of all kinds of digital resources including manuscripts, images, historical documents, and sound recordings.
Educator's Reference Complete
This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator -- from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator's Reference Complete provides full-text results for nearly half of the journal titles found in ERIC. This database covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty -- such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. Educator's Reference Complete also focuses on issues in administration, funding and policy.
Expanded Academic ASAP
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers - with full text and images.
General BusinessFile ASAP
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available
General Reference Center Gold
Use this general interest database to search magazines, reference books, and newspapers for information on current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences, sports, etc
Global Issues in Context
Global Issues in Context offers current, international news and perspectives on the most talked about, debated and studied issues and events in world hot spots.
Health Reference Center Academic
Articles on Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health & Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drug, etc. For informational purposes only.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Including the respected Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Health & Wellness Resource Center delivers up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. Also, this resource has partnered with Healthology, an industry leader in providing health and medical video content and physician-authored articles.
History Reference Center
High school and middle school students can use this database to search articles about different periods of U.S. and World History. Resources used include reference books, history books, and periodicals.
InfoTrac K-12 Junior Edition
This periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school, with magazines, newspapers and reference books (most are full-text) for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Kids InfoBits is designed to serve two distinct groups: children in kindergarten through grade two, and the more research-savvy kids in grades three through fi ve. It contains full-text content of the Blackbirch, First Facts, and Junior Worldmark reference series, plus other full-text magazine articles, searchable maps, charts, flags, graphs and other images.
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center pulls together materials from many different print and online sources, including scholarly journals, literary reviews, reference books, authoritative websites, and more. The Research Guide walks you through the process of writing a research paper on a literature topic, from choosing a topic to gathering information, from formulating a thesis statement to writing, revising, and preparing a Works Cited page.
Massachusetts History Online
Search through a wealth of resources containing authoritative information about the history of the Commonwealth.
New York Times (1985-Present)
Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985. Updated daily.
Allows readers to use a favorite author or title as a template to locate other authors and titles. 3 powerful search techniques to look for books by subject headings, reviews, and other fields in the title records.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
A complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Overdrive Downloadable Audiobooks & e-Books
Audiobooks, radio shows, music, and e-books you can download. You can listen and read on your computer, your mp3 player, or your e-reader.
Points of View
Almost identical to the Opposing Viewpoints in Context, this database provides information on currently debated or controversial issues in order to help users understand all sides of an issue. Great for writing position papers.
E-reference for programmers and Information Technology professionals, with thousands of the top technology books and training videos from the world's most trusted publishers, including Cisco Press, IBM Press, O'Reilly, Prentice Hall, etc. Safari covers technologies most essential to users. Topics include enterprise computing, Java, Linus/Unix, web and mobile development, digital media, game programming, Windows and much more. All books have publication dates within the last three years.
Science in Context
Science in Context is an in-depth, curriculum-oriented science database that provides a one-stop resource for all science-related research needs. This resource reflects curriculum trends and focuses on key concepts taught in school classrooms.
U.S. History in Context
Provides integrated access to historical (primary) documents, reference articles, full-text journals covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. Also includes citations for over 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Virtual Reference Center
Includes more than 90 encyclopedias, plus numerous specialized reference sources covering a diversity of subjects including Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Religion, Science, and Social Science. Some "Junior" sources included as well.
World Book Online offers tools for students and researchers of all ages through World Book Reference Center, World Book Info Finder and World Book for Kids. These databases offer computer and web tutorials, e-books, a biography center, articles, games, science projects, interactive tools and much more.
World History in Context
More than 10,000 pages of primary source materials, full-text periodicals, and reference works help you explore more than 4,900 years into the past.